Several members of the Russian Security Council and two Russian banks were sanctioned by Canberra.

Australia announced sanctions against Russia on Wednesday, joining the U.S., EU, Canada, UK and Germany in taking measures in response to Russia’s actions in neighboring Ukraine.

“Australians always stand up to bullies, and we will stand up to Russia together with all our partners,” Prime Minister Scott Morrison told reporters. –I expect further series of sanctions, this is just the beginning of the process.”

The National Security Committee in Morrison’s cabinet approved sanctions and entry bans against eight members of the Russian Security Council.

The Committee also agreed to expand previously imposed sanctions and join the U.S. and the UK by taking measures against two Russian banks.