50 out of 58 counties in state declare drought emergency.

California Gov. Gavin Newsom has called on residents to voluntarily cut their water use by 15 percent as the drought deepens in the state.

Due to the drought, Democrat Newsom has declared a state of emergency in 50 of California’s 58 counties, which account for about 42 percent of the population.

Major counties such as Los Angeles, San Diego and San Francisco are not subject to a state of emergency.

“We hope that people will treat the situation with the same attitudes as during the last drought, and go to a 15 percent voluntary reduction in water consumption, not only in residential buildings, but also in industrial commercial operations and agricultural work,” said Newsom to reporters in San Luis Obispo County.