The President of the European Commission is elected for a term of five years. Now it is headed by Jean-Claude Juncker. His powers expire in October. The new head of the European Commission could not be elected at the summit of the European Council on June 20, said in a statement by the President of the European Council Donald Tusk.

“None of the candidates received a majority of votes,” Tusk said. The next meeting of the European Council is scheduled for June 30.

French President Emmanuel Macron said that the three main candidates for the presidency of the European Commission failed to get the required number of votes. As noted FreeNews, Macron opposed the candidacy of Manfred Weber, Deputy Head of the German party “Christian Social Union,” which supports German Chancellor Angela Merkel.

Later, the French President said that he had nothing against the candidate from Germany and added that he would support Merkel if she fought for the post of head of the European Commission. However, said Macron, she does not want it, and he respects her position.

The new President of the European Commission must be approved before the fall; the procedure takes place in two stages: the candidate must be approved by the leaders of at least 21 of the 28 EU countries and supported by a majority of MEPs (376 of 751).

According to sources, Le Monde and Bloomberg, Merkel is ready for the assignment of the Macron in the case that the representative of Germany will be headed by the ECB. If the negotiations do not bring results, the European Council will consider candidates outside the list proposed by the leading parties of the European Parliament, wrote Politico.