The United States will impose sanctions against Russian President Vladimir Putin and Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, White House spokeswoman Jen Psaki said.

As Psaki stated at the briefing, appropriate actions will follow similar decisions of the EU.

“The United States will join them and impose sanctions against President Putin, Foreign Minister Lavrov and members of the national security team,” Psaki said.