Russia has banned British Prime Minister Boris Johnson and a number of British ministers from entering the country.

In a statement, the Russian Foreign Ministry said that such a decision was made “in connection with the unprecedented hostile actions of the British government, expressed, in particular, in the imposition of sanctions against senior officials of the Russian Federation.”

The ban on entry to Russia applies to 13 people, including the Ministers of Justice, Defense, Finance, Foreign and Internal Affairs, as well as former Prime Minister Theresa May – now she is a member of parliament.

After the start of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the UK imposed sanctions on Russian politicians, businessmen and representatives of state media. The UK has repeatedly expanded the list of restrictions against Moscow. In particular, London has imposed an embargo on Russian energy resources. In addition, the daughters of Russian President Vladimir Putin and Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov were included in the sanctions lists.