A delegation of high-ranking representatives of the White House will discuss with European allies this week the procedure for imposing sanctions against Moscow.

U.S. National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan spoke with NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg, said Emily Horne, an official representative of the National Security Council.

The White House said in a statement that Sullivan and Stoltenberg discussed “common concerns about Russia’s buildup of forces along the border with Ukraine and stressed their commitment to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.”

The interlocutors also discussed the readiness of the United States and NATO to continue dialogue with Russia in order to find a diplomatic way to de-escalation, stressing “the readiness of the allies to defend themselves from any threat to the territory of NATO countries, including by strengthening the eastern flank in response to possible Russian aggression.”

Earlier on Tuesday, the Reuters news agency, citing a source in the White House, reported that a delegation of senior administration officials will go to Europe this week. Representatives of the White House are going to discuss with European partners “possible sanctions and export control measures that the United States and its allies can take in the event of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.”

The delegation, which includes representatives of the Ministry of Finance, the Department of State and the U.S. Department of Commerce, will visit the UK, France, Belgium and Germany. According to the source, in addition to discussing what actions should be taken in response to a possible invasion, officials will focus on how the allies will take such steps, including the issue of existing powers and the need for new legislation.

The delegation includes Elizabeth Rosenberg, Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Combating the Financing of Terrorism and Financial Crimes; Thea Kendler, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Export Management; and Molly Montgomery, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State in the Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs.