Switzerland partially suspends the 2009 agreement with Russia on a simplified visa issuance procedure, but diplomats are allowed visa-free entry into the country, the Federal Council said in a statement published on the agency’s website on Monday.

Earlier it became known that the Federal Council (government) of Switzerland joins the sanctions imposed earlier by the EU against Russia.

“The Federal Council also decided to partially suspend the 2009 agreement on visa facilitation for Russian citizens. Holders of diplomatic passports will continue to be allowed visa-free entry into the country so that Switzerland can continue to facilitate negotiations and conflict resolution within the framework of its good offices,” the statement said.