The European Union (EU) has officially adopted sanctions against Russia for recognizing the independence of the Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics (DPR and LPR). This is reported by Free News with reference to the EU statement.

The sanctions list includes 351 State Duma deputies who voted in support of an appeal to Russian President Vladimir Putin to recognize the republics, and another 27 individuals and organizations that “played a role in undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.” In addition, the EU has decided to impose restrictions against banks that support the actions of the Russian authorities in the DPR and LPR or benefit from them.

The statement clarifies that the European Union is ready to quickly adopt additional sanctions against Russia if necessary. “The EU calls on Russia to reconsider the recognition of the territories of Luhansk and Donetsk regions uncontrolled by the government <…> The EU also calls on other states not to follow the illegal decision to recognize the declared independence,” the document says.