The EU has imposed sanctions on six Russian officials in connection with the Navalny case

We are talking about representatives of the Ministry of Defense’s leadership, the FSS, and the presidential administration.

The EU has imposed financial sanctions on six senior Russian officials from the Defense Ministry, the FSS, and the Kremlin who are believed to be involved in the poisoning of prominent Russian opposition leader Alexey Navalny.

They face asset freezes and a ban on entering the European Union.

Some of these individuals are members of a narrow circle of elites surrounding Russian President Vladimir Putin for many years. These are FSB Director Alexander Bortnikov, first Deputy Head of the presidential administration Sergey Kiriyenko, and head of the internal political Department of the presidential administration Andrey Yarin.

The others are Deputy Defense Ministers Alexey Krivoruchko and Pavel Popov and the presidential representative in the Siberian Federal district Sergey Menyailo.

The EU also imposed sanctions against the Russian State Research Institute of organic chemistry and technology. Western intelligence agencies claim that it was at this Institute that the Novichok nerve agent that poisoned Navalny was developed and produced.

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said on Wednesday that Moscow would give a mirror response to the sanctions in connection with Kremlin critic Navalny’s case.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Author: Ivan Maltsev
The study of political and social problems of different countries of the world. Analysis of large companies on the world market. Observing world leaders in the political arena.
Function: Chief-Editor
Ivan Maltsev

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: