The head of EU diplomacy, Josep Borrell, said that 351 State Duma deputies and 27 more individuals and legal entities will be under EU sanctions due to the recognition of the independence of the LPR and the DPR.

“We have reached an agreement between the 27 EU members on the package of sanctions that I proposed. This package of sanctions will be very painful for Russia. 351 State Duma deputies who voted for such a decision will fall under these measures. Also, these measures will affect another 27 individuals and organizations,” he said.

Borrell explained that the sanctions were agreed, despite the different points of view of the 27 members of the union. He also noted that “sanctions do not have a magical effect,” but are “painful” for the defendants.

Earlier, the details of future sanctions were disclosed in a joint statement by the heads of the European Council and the European Commission, Charles Michel and Ursula von der Leyen. In particular, sanctions against the Russian Federation will affect individuals involved in the decision to recognize the DPR and the LPR, as well as banks financing activities in the territory of the LPR and the DPR, including the “military.”

These sanctions include a ban on travel to EU countries and the freezing of assets in the EU.

The statement also stated that “the first package proposes restricting access of Russia, the Russian government to capital markets and financial markets and services in the EU.”

“This is aimed at limiting the financing of aggressive policies and escalation policies,” the document says.

The EU also intends to restrict trade with the DPR and the LPR.

“This should ensure that those responsible will fully feel the economic consequences of their illegal and aggressive actions,” the statement says.

The EU called the recognition of the LPR and the DPR “a blatant violation of international law and the Minsk agreements” and promised to respond. The head of EU diplomacy, Josep Borrell, said earlier that he was ready to submit a draft of sanctions to the EU Council, which has the authority to approve restrictive measures.