Germany and the United Arab Emirates have announced their readiness to provide temporary shelter to thousands of evacuees.

State Department spokesman Ned Price said that Bahrain, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Qatar, Tajikistan, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and Uzbekistan “have already joined or will soon join” the transit of Americans and citizens of other countries from Kabul.

According to Reuters, Germany and some Middle Eastern countries have also agreed to host people evacuated from Kabul temporarily.

According to the agency, on Friday, evacuation flights from Kabul did not take off for six hours because they had nowhere to fly: the Al-Udeid airbase in Qatar was overcrowded. There are already 8,000 evacuees there.

Now the flights have been resumed.

According to Ned Price, most of the evacuation flights will be carried out from Kabul to Qatar and then to one of the above countries. He added that some countries had offered their assistance in accommodating refugees from Afghanistan.

In particular, at the request of the United States, the United Arab Emirates agreed to accept 5,000 evacuated Afghans for 10 days.

German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas said that Berlin has agreed with Washington to provide temporary shelter for refugees at the Ramstein Air Base.

Recall that the United States is currently engaged in evacuating U.S. citizens and Afghans who collaborated with them against the background of the seizure of power in Afghanistan by the Taliban movement.

According to media reports, the situation in and around the Kabul airport remains tense.