The ban will come into force before the end of the day on March 2.

The United States will close the skies for Russian airlines, following the states of the European Union and Canada. This was stated by U.S. President Joe Biden.

Earlier on Tuesday, United Airlines announced that it had temporarily stopped flights in Russian airspace, joining other major American carriers – Delta, American Airlines and UPS.

In recent days, the White House has been actively consulting with representatives of the American aviation industry.