The United States, as part of a new wave of sanctions, is imposing restrictions on borrowing against 13 Russian state and private companies and banks, the U.S. Treasury Department reported.

The measure previously applied to government bonds affects bonds of new issues of Gazprom, Gazpromneft, Transneft, Rostelecom, Rushydro, Alrosa, Sovcomflot, Russian Railways, Sberbank, Gazprombank, Rosselkhoznadzor, as well as Alfa-Bank and Credit Bank of Moscow.

“These are 13 large firms… companies of critical importance to the Russian economy, and six of the country’s largest financial institutions. They are now severely limited in the possibilities of raising funds through the U.S. market,” the press release says.

The Ministry of Finance believes that the restrictions will prevent the Kremlin from raising funds to finance “malicious activities,” including the invasion of Ukraine.