The ceremony was attended by Paul McCartney, Taylor Swift, Christina Aguilera, H.E.R., and others.

American artists Tina Turner, Jay-Z (real name Sean Carter), Carole King, and Todd Rundgren, as well as rock bands The Go-Go’s and Foo Fighters, are included in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland (Ohio). The ceremony and accompanying concert took place on Saturday evening at the Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse complex near the Hall of Fame.

The names of the musicians included in this year’s list were announced back in May. Jay-Z made history as the first solo rap artist to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame during his lifetime. For Tina Turner, this is the second entry into the Hall of Fame – the first time she was included in it in 1991 as part of a duet with her ex-husband Ike Turner (1931-2007). For the second time, Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl was also included in the list, who was honored with inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2014 as part of the band Nirvana, of which he was the drummer. Carole King was also inducted into the Hall of Fame earlier in 1990, but only as a songwriter, not a performer.

Tickets for the ceremony, which took place for the 36th time, were sold out long before it began. The organizers did not broadcast the event online, going live on YouTube video hosting only from the red carpet, where the performers arrived.

In addition to the laureates themselves, such musicians as Paul McCartney, Taylor Swift, Christina Aguilera, H.E.R. (Gabriella Wilson), and others took part in the ceremony of inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The organizers promise that everyone who wants to watch the ceremony will be able to do so from November 20 on the streaming platform HBO Max.

Musicians can apply for inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame only after the 25th anniversary of the release of their first record. It already includes, in particular, such bands and artists as The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Elvis Presley, The Rolling Stones, BB King, Chuck Berry, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, and many others.

To decide who is worthy to enter the community, it is offered to listeners who vote for musicians on the official website of the organization. In addition, about 1,000 experts in the field of music, including other singers, critics, show business professionals, and historians, participate in determining the laureates.